High Point Practice Updates: April 2015

Published on in CHOP News

Community Event: Summer Therapeutic Activities Program

Could your child use a little extra developmental and behavioral support this summer? Check out STAP – Summer Therapeutic Activities Program at Indian Creek Foundation in Souderton. The Summer Therapeutic Activities Program, designed for children ages 5-14, is an interactive therapeutic environment that provides qualified clinical staff to work with each child on behavioral goals and social skills in a recreational setting. Opportunities for inclusion vary and include community outings. For more information contact the STAP coordinator at (267) 203-1500 ext. 139.

Local Resource: Special needs swim lessons

Did you know that many YMCAs in the Philadelphia area offer swim lessons for children with special needs? Check out the list below and start splashing!

Abington Branch YMCA

Lindsey Ross

lross@philaymca.org

Ambler Area YMCA

Erica Pfaff

epfaff@philaymca.org

Upper Main Line YMCA

Tim Ryan

tim.ryan@umly.org

Lower Bucks Family YMCA

Cindy Clements

cclements@lbfymca.org

Hanover YMCA

Kim Capone

kcapone@hanoverymca.org

Indian Valley YMCA

Michele Odonnell

micheleo@northpennymca.org

Kennett Area YMCA

Lolly Hallman

lhallman@YMCABWV.org

Northeast Family YMCA

Jared Ursta

jursta@philaymca.org

Provider Updates

Please help us welcome our newest Patient Service Representative, Lisa Renner! Lisa will greet families, register patients for appointments, confirm well visits by phone, scan records, and conduct other administrative tasks to support our practice.

Asthma Tip of the Month

When your child’s asthma symptoms are not well controlled, your child may have to frequently use her albuterol inhaler. To help us determine if your child’s asthma is well controlled, we will ask you questions from our Asthma Control Tool during your child’s office visit.

These questions help us to know if your child’s asthma therapy is appropriate for her symptoms. Sometimes, we may recommend adjusting your child’s medication based on your answers to our questions. Next time you’re in the office, be sure to review your asthma control tool results with your child’s provider.