Craig H. Bassing, PhD

male silhouette icon
Craig H. Bassing, PhD, is an assistant professor and investigator with the Research Institute of The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.

Education and Training


Research Fellow in Molecular Immunology - Irvington Institute for Immunological Research, New York, NY
Research Fellow in Molecular Immunology - CBR Institute for Biomedical Research, Boston, MA
Research Fellow in Genetics - Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
Research Fellow in Medicine, Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA
Research Associate in Molecular Immunology - Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Philadelphia, PA
Research Fellow in Cancer Genetics - Lymphoma Research Foundation, New York, NY

Undergraduate Degree

BA in Biology - The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore MD

Graduate Degree

PhD in Biology - Duke University, Durham, NC

Titles and Academic Titles


Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Research Interests




Ehlich, L.A., Yang-Iott, K., DeMicco, A., and Bassing, C.H.: Somatic Inactivation of ATM in Hematopoietic Cells Predisposes Mice to Cyclin D3 Dependent T Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Cell Cycle 14: 388-98. 2015.


Steinel, N.C., Fisher, M., Yang-Iott, K.S., and Bassing, C.H.: The Ataxia Telangiectasia Mutated and Cyclin D3 Proteins Cooperate to Enforce Tcrb and Igh Allelic Exclusion. Journal of Immunology 193: 2881-2890, 2014.

Rupp, L.J., Brady, B.L., Carpenter, A.C., De Obaldia, M.E., Bhandoola, A., Bosselut, R., Muljo, S.A., and Bassing, C.H.: The microRNA biogenesis machinery modulates lineage commitment during αβ T cell development The Journal of Immunology 193: 4032-4042, 2014.

Horowitz, J.E. and Bassing, C.H.: NonCore RAG1 Regions Promote Vβ Rearrangements and αβ T Cell Development by Overcoming Inherent Inefficiency of Vβ Recombination Signal Sequences  Journal of Immunology 192: 1609-1619. 2014.

Ehrlich, L.A.,  Yang-Iott, K., and Bassing, C.H.: Tcrδ Translocations that Delete the Bcl11b Haploinsufficient Tumor Suppressor Gene Promote Atm-deficient T Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Cell Cycle 13: 3076-82, 2014.


Steinel, N.C., Lee, B.-S., Tubbs, A.T., Bednarski, J.J., Schulte, E., Yang-Iott, K.S., Schatz, D.G., Sleckman, B.P., and Bassing, C.H. : The Ataxia Telangiectasia Mutated Kinase Controls Igκ Allelic Exclusion by Inhibiting Secondary Vκ-to-Jκ Rearrangements  Journal of Experimental Medicine 210: 233-9, 2013.

DeMicco, A., Yang-Iott, K.S., and Bassing, C.H.: Somatic Inactivation of Tp53 in Hematopoietic Stem Cells or Thymocytes Predisposes Mice to Thymic Lymphomas with Clonal Translocations  Cell Cycle 12: 3307-16, 2013.

Brady, B.L., Rupp, L.J., and Bassing, C.H.: Requirement for Dicer in Survival of Proliferating Thymocytes Experiencing DNA Double Strand Breaks Journal of Immunology 190: 3256-66, 2013.




Shaw, A. C., Bassing, C. H., Swat, W., and Alt, F. W. : Signal transduction and regulation of antigen receptor gene rearrangement during early lymphocyte development. Hematopoiesis: A Developmental Approach. Oxford University Press, Page: 544-564, 2000.


Datto, M. B., Bassing, C. H., and Wang, X.-F. : The TGF-beta receptors and signaling pathways. Growth Factors and Cytokines in Health and Disease. JAI Press, Inc. Page: 395-432, 1995.

Posters and Presentations

Invited Lectures


"Molecular Control of Immunoglobulin Gene Rearrangements and B Cell Development", Tri-Institute Immunology Program of Rockefeller University, Cornell Medical School, and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Institute, New York, NY, January 2014.


"ATM inhibits secondary Igk rearrangements to enforce Igk allelic exclusion", New York Academy of Sciences Genomic Integrity Meeting, NY, NY, April 2013.

Awards and Honors

2010-present, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Scholar Award
2010, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Chair Award of the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
2009, Michael S. Brown New Investigator Research Award, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
2008-2009, Lassin Family Cancer Research Award at the Abramson Cancer Center of the University School of Medicine
2008, American Cancer Society Institutional Research Award
2006-2007, American Cancer Society Institutional Research Award
2005-2009, Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences
2005-2006, Foerderer-Murray Award
2005-2007, W.W. Smith Charitable Trust Award
2005-2006, American Cancer Society Institutional Research Award
2003-2005, Lymphoma Research Foundation Fellow Award
1997-2000, Irvington Institute for Immunological Research Fellow Award
1992, Departmental Honors (Biology), The Johns Hopkins University
1992, University Honors, The Johns Hopkins University
1992, Golden Key Honor Society, The Johns Hopkins University Chapter
1992-1995, National Science Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellow Award
1991, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Summer Fellow
1991, Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, The Johns Hopkins University Chapter
1990, Alpha Epsilon Delta Honor Society, The Johns Hopkins University Chapter

Editorial and Academic Positions

Editorial Positions

2013-present, The Journal of Immunology, section editor
2012-present, F1000 Research, editorial board
2012-present, American Journal of Clinical and Experimental Immunology, founding editorial board

Ad hoc reviewer

2011-present, PLoS ONE
2010-present, Human Molecular Genetics
2010-present, Nature Reviews in Cancer
2010-present, Journal of Cell Biology
2009-present, Molecular and Cellular Biology
2009-present, Oncogene
2008-present, Nucleic Acids Research
2008-present, Journal of Clinical Investigation
2007-present, Science
2007-present, Cell
2006-present, Blood
2006-present, Immunity
2005-present, Nature
2005-present, Journal of Experimental Medicine
2005-present, PNAS
2005-present, Cell Cycle
2005-present, DNA Repair
2005-present, Nature Immunology
2005-present, EMBO

Academic and Institutional Committees

2014-present, Cancer Biology Graduate Group, chair
2014-present, CB Executive Committee, chair
2014-present, CAMB Executive Committee
2014-present, CB Preliminary Exam Committee
2014-present, Biomedical Advisory Committee
2014, Penn Institute for Immunology Pilot Grants Review Panel
2014, Radiation Safety Committee of the University of Pennsylvania
2013, Graduate Group in Pharmacology of the University of Pennsylvania, review committee
2012-present, Cell and Molecular Biology Training Grant of the University of Pennsylvania, executive committee
2012-present, CCCR Biobank Scientific Review Council
2012-2014, CB Advising Committee, chair
2011-present, Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, associate investigator
2010-present, Institute for Immunology
2010-present, IGG Executive Committee
2010-present, Abramson Cancer Center - Pediatric Oncology Research
2010-2015, Selection Committee for the Michael S. Brown New Investigator Research Award
2009-present, IGG Student Affairs Committee, ad hoc member
2009-present, ACC Review Committee for American Cancer Society Pilot and Institutional Grants
2009-2014, CB Advising Committee
2007-present, ACC Review Committee for American Cancer Society Pilot and Institutional Grants
2005-present, IGG Admissions Committee
2004-present, Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate Group - Cancer Biology
2004-present, Immunology Graduate Group

Leadership and Memberships

Memberships in Professional Organizations


2012-present, Leukocyte Development Section in the Immunology Faculty
2010-present, The Henry Kunkel Society


2014-present, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, National Institutes of Health
- Board of Scientific Counselors
- Division of Intramural Research
2008-present, American Association for Cancer Research
2005-present, American Association of Immunologists
1992-present, American Association for the Advancement of Science