Marla L. Vanore, RN, BSN, MHA

female silhouette icon
Marla L. Vanore, RN, BSN, MHA, is the Director of Nursing and Special Projects with the Department of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and Behavioral Services at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.

Areas of Expertise: Injury prevention, Trauma
Locations: Center for Advanced Behavioral Healthcare
Appointments and Referrals: 1-800-TRY-CHOP (1-800-879-2467)


Marla L. Vanore, RN, MHA has extensive experience in leadership roles in pediatric and adult trauma centers. In these positions she has overseen clinical programs, injury prevention, education, trauma registries and research. She has served on the Board of Directors of the Society of Trauma Nurses including a two-year term as president. In addition, she has published and is an international speaker on trauma care and systems topics. She has experience as a nurse surveyor for trauma site surveys across the country and has participated in numerous statewide committees.

Education and Training

Board Certification

Advanced Trauma Care for Nurses (ATCN)
Critical Care Registered Nurse (CCRN)

Undergraduate Degree

BSN - LaSalle University, Philadelphia, PA

Graduate Degree

MS in Health Care Administration - St. Joseph's University, Philadelphia, PA

Additional Training

Clara Maass Memorial Hospital School of Nursing, Belleville, NJ

Titles and Academic Titles

Director of Nursing and Special Projects

Departments and Services

Research Interests

Trauma systems and injury prevention

Awards and Honors

1986, Maxima Cum Laude, LaSalle University

Editorial and Academic Positions

Editorial Positions

2002-present, Journal of Trauma Nursing, peer reviewer

Academic and Institutional Committees

2016-present, Magnet Steering Committee
1995-present, Transport Committee
1994-present, Trauma Committee

Leadership and Memberships

Memberships in Professional Organizations

2011-present, Pediatric Trauma Society
2019-present, Children’s Safety Now Alliance
1992-present, Society of Trauma Nurses
 - 2008-present, Past President’s Council
 - 2001-present, Pediatric Special Interest Group
1990-present, American Trauma Society
 - 2022-present, President
 - 2021-present, Legislative and Public Policy Committee
 - 2020-present, Executive Committee of the Board Member
 - 2011-present, Board of Directors