Neurology High School Scholars Project

The Neurology High School Scholar’s application session for the 2019 program is now closed. We look forward to reading all of your personal essays and letters. We will notify the program winners in late April, and will post the winners to this site.  

If you have any questions about the program, please feel free to contact the program coordinator, Ashley Rees-Jones, at

About the program

The High School Scholars Program offers the opportunity for three high school students to complete a five-week paid internship ($1,000 stipend). The internship involves working closely with a neurologist on a basic science or clinical research project, and shadowing physicians in clinic. Work hours will be determined between the student and mentor based on project needs. At the end of the five weeks, students will be expected to prepare a poster presentation outlining their project results and present the poster at a conference.

Interested in applying for 2020? The application will be available on this website starting in January 2020.


Selected students will be required to pass non-traditional personnel clearances (including but not limited to criminal and background checks and immunization requirements). There may be research and other training requirements, depending on the student’s project. Eligible students will be required to attend the program at CHOP's Main Campus on a daily basis during scheduled work hours.

Students must be sophomores, juniors or seniors, and must be 16 years of age at the start of the internship (July).

Students from Philadelphia and the surrounding counties are eligible to apply. Students from Southern New Jersey who are able to attend on a daily basis are eligible to apply.