Education and Training


Research Administration Fellowship, Clinical Research Administration - Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Undergraduate Degree

BSc in Psychology - University of Wales, Bangor, United Kingdom

Graduate Degree

PhD in Psychology/Behavioral Neuroscience - University of St Andrews, St Andrews, United Kingdom

Titles and Academic Titles

Practice Manager




Fu C-H, Iascone DM, Petrof I, Hazra A, Zhang X, Pyfer MS, Tosi U, Corbett BF, Cai J, Lee J, Park J, Iacovitti L, Scharfmann HE, Enikolopov G, Chin J (2019). Early seizure activity accelerates depletion of hippocampal neural stem cells and impairs spatial discrimination in an Alzheimer’s disease mouse model. Cell Reports, 27(13):3741-3751.


Yun S, Reynolds RP, Petrof I, White A, Rivera PD, Segev A, Gibson AD, Suarez M, Desalle MJ, Ito N, Mukherjee S, Richardson DR, Kang CE, Soler I, Chetkovich DM, Kourrich S, Coulter DA, Eisch AJ (2018). Stimulation of entorhinal cortex-dentate gyrus circuitry is antidepressive. Nature Medicine 24:258-266.


You J, Park J, Muralidharan K, Petrof I, Pyfer MS, Corbett BF, LaFrancois J, Zheng Y, Zhang X, Mohila C, Yoshor D, Rissman R, Nestler E, Scharfman H, Chin J (2017). Epigenetic suppression of hippocampal calbindin-D28k by ΔFosB drives seizure-related cognitive deficits. Nature Medicine 23(11):1377-1383.

Mo C*, Petrof I*, Viaene A, Sherman SM (2017). Synaptic properties of the lemniscal and paralemniscal pathways to the mouse somatosensoty cortex. PNAS 114(30): E6212-6221. *Authors contributed equally

Corbett B, You J, Zhang X, Pyfer M, Tosi U, Iascone D, Petrof I, Hazra H, Fu A, Ashok A, Aschmies S, Zhao L, Neslter EJ, Chin J (2017). ΔFosB mediates epigenetic suppression of cFos expression in models of epilepsy and Alzheimer’s disease. Cell Reports 20(2):344-355.


Liu T, Petrof I & Sherman SM (2015) Modulatory effects of metabotropic glutamate receptors activation on GABAergic circuits in mouse thalamus. J Neurophys. 113(7) 2646-52

Petrof I, Viaene AN & Sherman SM (2015) Properties of the primary somatosensory cortex projection to primary motor cortex in the mouse. J Neurophys. 113(7) 2400-7


Liu T, Petrof I & Sherman SM (2014). Modulatory effects of activation of metabotropic glutamate receptors on GABAergic circuits in the mouse cortex. J Neurophys. 111(11): 2287-97


Petrof I & Sherman SM (2013). Functional significance of synaptic terminal size in glutamatergic sensory pathways in thalamus and cortex. J Phys. 591(13):3125-31

Viaene AN, Petrof I & Sherman SM (2013). Activation requirements for metabotropic glutamate receptors. Neurosci Lett. 541:67-72


Petrof I, Viaene AN & Sherman SM (2012). Two populations of corticothalamic and interareal corticocortical cells in the subgranular layers of the mouse primary sensory cortices. J Comp Neurol. 520(8):1678-86


Viaene AN, Petrof I & Sherman SM (2011). Properties of the thalamic projection from the posterior medial nucleus to primary and secondary somatosensory cortices in the mouse. PNAS. 108(44):18156-18161

Viaene AN, Petrof I & Sherman SM (2011). Synaptic properties of thalamic input to the subgranular layers of primary somatosensory and auditory cortices in the mouse. J Neurosci. 31(36):12738-47

Viaene AN*, Petrof I* & Sherman SM (2011). Synaptic properties of thalamic input to layers 2/3 and 4 of primary somatosensory and auditory cortices. J Neurophys. 105(1):279-92 *Authors contributed equally


Petrof I & Brown VJ (2010). Attention to visual, but not tactile, properties of a stimulus results in activation of FOS protein in the visual thalamic reticular nucleus of rats. Beh Br Res. 211(2)-248-252


Petrof I & Sherman SM (2009). Synaptic properties of the mammillary and cortical afferents to the anterodorsal thalamic nucleus in the mouse. J Neurosci. 29(24):7815-9


Petrof I & Marí-Beffa P (2005). Flanker-like interference and response-based mechanisms of selective attention. An ERP study. The Psychologist in Wales / Y Seicolegydd yng Nghymru. 18: 35-42

Awards and Honors

  • Postgraduate Scholarship Grant, Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council
  • 2007, Postgraduate Scholarship, School of Psychology & Neuroscience, University of St Andrews
  • 2003, First Class Honors Distinction, BSc, Psychology. University of Wales
  • 2003, National Undergraduate Thesis Award. Welsh Branch of the British Psychological Society
  • 2003, Ysgol Seicoleg Top Student Award, Department of Psychology, University of Wales

Editorial and Academic Positions

Editorial Positions

2015-present, Editorial Board, Journal of Neurology and Experimental Neural Science