Christopher L. Smith, MD, PhD

male silhouette icon
Christopher L. Smith, MD, PhD, is an attending cardiologist with the Division of Cardiology at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.

Areas of Expertise: Developmental biology (cardiovascular and lymphatic), Interventional cardiology and lymphatic intervention
Locations: Main Hospital
Phone: 215-590-4040

Education and Training

Medical School

MD, PhD - University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX


Pediatrics - The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA


Pediatric Cardiology - The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Titles and Academic Titles

Attending Cardiologist

Departments and Services




Biko DM, Smith CL, Otero HJ et al. Intrahepatic dynamic contrast MR lymphangiography: initial experience with a new technique for the assessment of liver lymphatics. Eur Radiol 2019.


Song, K, Nam, YJ, Luo, X, Qi, X, Tan, W, Huang, GN, Acharya, A, Smith, CL, Tallquist, MD, Neilson, EG, Hill, JA, Bassel-Duby, R and Olson, EN. Heart repair by reprogramming non-myocytes with cardiac transcription factors. Nature 485, 599-604, 2012. PMID:  22660318


Smith, CL, Baek SB, Sung CY, Tallquist MD “Epicardial-derived cell epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition and fate specification require PDGF receptor signaling” Circ Res. 108:e15-e26, 2011.  This article won a Best manuscript award from Circulation Research for July 2010 - June 2011.  PMID:  21512159


Smith, CL, Tallquist, MD.  “PDGF function in diverse neural crest cell populations.”  Cell Adhesion and Migration.19;4(4), 2010.  Review  PMID:  20657170

Wu, M, Smith, CL, Hall, JA, Lee, I, Luby-Phelps, K, Tallquist, MD.  “Epicardial spindle orientation controls cell entry into the myocardium.” Developmental Cell. 19(1):114-25, 2010.   PMID:  20643355


Mellgren, AM*, Smith, CL*, Olsen, GS, Eskiocak, B, Zhou, B, Kazi, MN, Ruiz, FR, Pu, WT, and Tallquist, MD “PDGFR signaling is required for efficient epicardial cell migration and development of two distinct coronary vascular smooth muscle cell populations.” Circulation Research.103:1393-1401, 2008 epub Oct 23, 2008. *Indicates equal contribution.  PMID:  18948621


Bhat, S, Tang, L, Krueger, AD, Smith, CL, Ford, S, Dickey, LF,  and Petracek, ME    "The Fed-1 (CAUU)4 element is a  5' UTR dark-responsive mRNA instability element that functions independently of dark-induced polyribosome dissociation." Plant Molecular. Biology. 56: 761-773, 2004.  PMID:  15803413

Bunce, RA, Smith, CL, Knight, CL  "N-(nitrophenyl)benzamide and benzenesulfonamide derivatives by nucleophilic aromatic substitution." Organic Preparations and Procedures International: The New Journal for Organic Synthesis. 36: 482-487, 2004.

Bunce, RA, Smith, CL, Lewis, JR "Tetrahydro-1,5-benzoxazepines and tetrahydro-1H-1,5-benzodiazepines by a tandem reduction-reductive amination reaction" Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry. 41:  963-970, 2004.

Posters and Presentations


Smith CL. Decompression of the Thoracic Duct:  A Novel Transcatheter Approach in a Patient with an LSVC to Atretic Coronary Sinus, SCAI Fall Fellows course, Las Vegas, NV, December 7-11, 2018 

Awards and Honors

2016, Physician Partnering Award (cardiac center nomination)
2013, Kurt Ian Wey, M.D. Pediatrics Award (Outstanding Senior award in Pediatrics)
2012, Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society
2011, Best Manuscript Award from the Journal of Circulation Research
2010, Top 5 GSO poster session finalist
2009, Ruth L. Kirschstein NRSA, NIH Individual Fellowship (F30)
2009, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship
2008, Cardiology Institutional Training Fellowship
2004, Honors College Degree – Arts and Sciences
2004, Honors College Degree – Agricultural Science and Natural Resources
2004, Outstanding Senior Award in Chemistry
2004, Chemistry Departmental Honors Award, OSU
2004, Summa Cum Laude, Oklahoma State University
2003-2004, Tom E. Moore Outstanding Senior Scholarship, OSU
2003, Pfizer Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow
2003, Paul F. Kruse Award for Excellence in Biochemistry, OSU
2003, Biochemistry Departmental Honors Award, OSU
2002-2003, Robert Schively Chemistry Scholarship, OSU