Pennsylvania's New Car Seat Law Goes into Effect in August

Published on in CHOP News

As of Aug. 12, 2016, Pennsylvania will be enforcing a law that requires children under the age of two to be restrained in rear-facing car seats unless they've reached the maximum height or weight of their car seat.

The previous law required that children under the age of 4 ride in an approved child passenger restraint system, and children 4 to 8 years of age in a seat belt and an appropriately fitting booster seat. Children at least 8 years of age, and under the age of 18 years, must be transported with a seat belt.

The new law now requires children under age 2 to ride in rear-facing car seats.

The AAP recommends that parents continue the use of a rear-facing car seat for their children until they turn two years old, or until they outgrow the height and weight limits on their rear-facing seat.

Read more about the new law and find answers to commonly asked car seat questions in an article authored by CHOP’s Flaura Koplin Winston, MD, PhD, for Philly.com’s Healthy Kids blog.

Watch this video from the Kohl’s Injury Prevention Program at CHOP for advice on choosing and properly installing a child safety seat that will help protect your baby from serious injuries.